15 are named to Motorsport Hall of Fame

Written by Norris McDonald

Geographical range, disciplines

illustrate Hall’s diversity

As of today, more than 200 sportsmen and women have been inducted into the Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame, which was founded in 1993 by Gary Magwood and Lee Abrahamson to honour everyone who made significant contributions to the growth of motor sport in Canada.

Inducted previously: F1 stars Gilles Villeneuve and his son Jacques, Canada’s one and only world driving champion;  IndyCar star Paul Tracy; sports car stars Scott Maxwell and the late Diana Carter; motorcycle champion Jordan Szoke; international racecar parts manufacturer Multimatic Engineering; sponsors Labatt, Molson and Imperial Tobacco and me, along with 10 other reporters/columnists including Tim Miller of the Hamilton Spectator, F1 journalists Gerald Donaldson and Jeff Pappone, and Dan Proudfoot of the Toronto Sun.

The Hall of Fame this week issued a list of 15 individuals who will be inducted at the next ceremony. Fourteen will be inducted in the Competitors / Motorsport Builders / Team Members / Significant Contributors categories while  the 15th will be included in the Media category.

More than 40 from across Canada were nominated and the Hall’s selection committee determined the 15 to be honoured. Discussing this year’s nomination and selection process, CMHF chair Dr. Hugh Scully said:

“On behalf of the Hall, we applaud the achievements and contributions of the new members and we look forward to welcoming them to the Hall.”

To continue reading this column, please click here